My Life Without the Book of Mormon

 

What would my life be without the Book of Mormon?

I would not understand the eternal nature of families. I would not have had the missions that have taught me I can look for heaven in the extremities of my life[1], that God loves his children without respect[2], that His promises are exceedingly great and precious[3], that He is the author and finisher of my faith[4], and that as we connect with Him and others [5], I can be elevated and propelled forward with greater power[6].  I would not understand my children to be gifts of a covenant.  I would not have my parents–as it was prayer which gave them courage to marry, and faith in a Redeemer that invited us to earth[7] to gain a body, to gain experience, and to learn.

[1] James E. Faust April 1979 Conference, The Refiner’s Fire, Also see Larry Richman, Learning from Life’s Trials, Ensign, March 2010, “Apostle Orson F. Whitney (1855–1931) of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, explained: “No pain that we suffer, no trial that we experience is wasted. It ministers to our education, to the development of such qualities as patience, faith, fortitude and humility. All that we suffer and all that we endure, especially when we endure it patiently, builds up our characters, purifies our hearts, expands our souls, and makes us more tender and charitable, more worthy to be called the children of God … and it is through sorrow and suffering, toil and tribulation, that we gain the education that we come here to acquire.” Quoted by Spencer W. Kimball in Faith Precedes the Miracle (1972), 98. Also, Brigham Young taught, “Every trial and experience you have passed through is necessary for your salvation,” Teachings of the Presidents of the Church: Brigham Young, 262.

 

[2] Ensign, August 1981 No Respecter of PersonsActs 10:35

[3] David A. Bednar, Exceeding Great and Precious Promises, October 2017

[4] Moroni 6:4, see also Hebrews 12:2

[5] Moroni 6:5-6 see also Doctrine and Covenants 6.32 and Matthew 18:19-20

[6] Russell M. Nelson, Drawing the Power of Jesus Christ into our Lives, April 2017

[7] Job 38:4-7

20180924 My life without the Book of Mormon

Leave a comment